Plans to help the recession

Reaction score
http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2009/03/bill_that_help_recession_victi.html

In a move that could turn unemployed Wall Street traders or pharmaceutical workers into classroom instructors, the Legislature unanimously approved a pilot program today to fast-track public school certification in the areas of math and science.

The 18-month pilot programs overseen by the Department of Education and implemented, in part, at Montclair State University will focus initially on financial services employees rocked by the recession's disastrous impact on Wall Street.

Just what we need, more unqualified teachers.

I'm majoring in Elementary Education and specialize in Math/Science. There goes my job.

:-/

I agree with the phrase "unqualified teachers." A vast majority of the laid off financial services employees in question don't want to teach, they just want income. There's nothing wrong with wanting work, but good teachers have to want to teach. That's actually why I am supportive of the low teacher salary, so that a majority of teachers are there to teach, not to land an easy job that has steady hours and salary.

I'm a music education major. Hopefully they don't do some similar fast-track program for laid off music industry employees and transform them into music educators. That would be disastrous.

:-/

I agree with the phrase "unqualified teachers." A vast majority of the laid off financial services employees in question don't want to teach, they just want income. There's nothing wrong with wanting work, but good teachers have to want to teach. That's actually why I am supportive of the low teacher salary, so that a majority of teachers are there to teach, not to land an easy job that has steady hours and salary.

I'm a music education major. Hopefully they don't do some similar fast-track program for laid off music industry employees and transform them into music educators. That would be disastrous.