I'm a newbie in town here, but a long-time HL fan who's
ready to step up to HL2. Unfortunately, my current set-up
(400 chip, 156 meg ram and 40 gig hd) will not
accommodate the game. So I'm taking my IRS refund and
getting a whole new system and I'm inclined to do a deal for
somewhere between $1,100 and $1,200 with Cyberpower
systems.
If anyone out there has the time and interest, I would be
grateful for any advice on my configuration.

Here's a few things I've decided already, based on my
preferences and advice from those whom I suspect are
better informed:
I don't do a lot of multitasking, therefore I'm leaning
toward AMD 64, rather than Pentium 4 for a cpu.
I want a motherboard that will accommodate a temperature
sensor since the case I'm getting features a Temp gauge.
And will all mobos accommodate IDE as well as SATA hard
drives or do I have to pick one or the other?
Finally I want a system that will accommodate HL 2 and,
hopefully a future HL 3.

Here's the specs for my Cyberpower system:
Aspire Turbo X-infinity case w/2 80mm fans
Ultra-X 500w power supply
754-pin AMD Athlon 64 2800 cpu
AMD Athlon64 Certified CPU Fan and Heatsink
754-pin Socket Gigabyte GA-K8NS nForce3 250 chipset
AGP 8x w/audio, LAN, &USB MoBo
Corsair XMS Pro (512MBx2) PC 3200 400MHz DDR Memory
Western Digital 200 GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 8MB Special
Edition
No RAID Configuration
ATI All-In-Wonder 9600XT 128 MB Video Card
3D-wave onboard 5.1 sound card
Combo drive 16x DVD-ROM and 52x32x52 CD-RW
Windows XP Professional with SP2
I plan to retain, for the time being, my Klipsch Pro-media
2.1 sound system and Sony 19-inch 420GS monitor (not a
flat screen, sigh).

Do these seem like good choices that will interact well with
each other?

Thanks for your help in advance,
Valveaddict

Welcome to the forums. :D

That system has a few things that are not needed and that you could save money on.