new system build, please advise

Illegal Amigo

Reaction score
Hi, I'd like to build a new computer this summer and wanted to see what you guys thought of my build so far. I'm a moderately experienced builder (~ four years) but have recently stopped following up on the latest technologies. Here's what I want to do with it, and I think it will work:

Dual-boot Windows XP (and eventually Vista) and Ubuntu 7.04
Use Compiz Fusion and Beryl (the graphical goodness!) in Ubuntu
Game decently in DX10
Have the possibility to upgrade gfx to SLI (hence the mobo).

The specs didn't load properly so here we go:
EDIT:
-MSI P965 Platinum LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
-EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
-Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600 - Retail
-Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KHX6400D2K2/2G - Retail
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
-Sony NEC Optiarc 18X DVD?R DVD Burner with 12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model AD-7170S-0B - OEM

Thanks for any assistance you guys can provide.

I don't see anything I would change with that setup. Maybe get a different brand board other than MSI (can be flaky) but that would be very minor thing and up to your preference. Would be a little more future proof with a 8800 640MB but only with newer games and high settings.

And the way GPUs have been increasing with each generation the new card always performs better and probably with less power than the older one in SLI/Crossfire. Dual cards are generally regarded as just a way to get more performance from the current generation than is possible until next season (2x top end $500 cards).