Sculpting clay. What do I need to know?

Raziaar

I Hate Custom Titles
Reaction score
Hey guys. I am really motivated to make my own 3d settlers of catan game pieces. I'm going to be making my attempt at sculpting some of the terrain pieces out of clay on a hex and then using silicon mold making material to make the mold and then casting it in resin. Finally of course I'll paint them.

But I've never worked with clay before in my life beyond my childhood days making clay beads.

What kinds of items could I use effectively for various digging and detailing purposes without buying a specific set. Things like math compass, keys... etc.

I'm also going to need to avoid any sulphur based clay. What does that leave me with for a relatively cheap but good modeling clay that I can fire or otherwise harden and cast a mold with? The reason I can't have the sulphur based clay is because of the silicon I'm going with.

I'm basically going to be attempting something like this.

http://www.io.com/~beckerdo/games/articles/SettlersI.html

20110119195554clipboard.png

I know I can just use google, but I wanted to reach out to our artist friends.

Ask RJMC! Also, when you paint them (if you are planning on doing so) you'd be best learning about basic model painting techniques like priming, drybrushing etc.

Cool idea though. I've never played Settlers of Catan (my board game nerd friend that I play wargames and board games with doesn't care too much for it) but I've heard good things from everyone but that guy.

not to hijack your thread raz but I was underwhelmed by catan when I first played it a few months ago. It's a pretty simple game and will leave you longing for some more complex gameplay, but maybe I've just been spoiled by civ.

When I did my really shitty sculpy stuff in school I used these things. Should be all you need really. These and your fingers. And whatever random "texture" bits you find around your house that you can press into the surface to make patterns.