Another Linux thread.

Higlac

Companion Cube
Reaction score
Since I didn't feel like bumping an old thread, here goes.

I've been running Ubuntu on my netbook for a couple of years now, but 11.10 has pissed me off beyond belief. It removed the classic Ubuntu desktop layout, it won't remember that I like my sound muted (It goes MAXIMUM VOLUME on every boot up), and worst of all, it has stability issues with my netbook.

I'm looking to find another Linux distro, but I'm not sure what versions there are or what would interest me. I'd prefer something crisp, fast, and functional. If I can't find a new distro that I like, I'm just going to install 10.04 LTS.

tl;dr Ubuntu 11.10 sucks and I want new Linux.

Isn't the point of Linux that you can modify it to your liking?

Except for the stability issues.

Isn't the point of Linux that you can modify it to your liking?

Except for the stability issues.

I would if I had the know-how, but I don't think that a GUI change would help my stability issues.

I see your edit.

Depends what is destabilizing it. You could try gnome-shell (and accept the new UIs) or switch to KDE, XFCE, or LXDE.

As far as getting away from Ubuntu completely, Debian is always a good option if you don't mind stable (outdated) software. Debian Testing is probably the best balance of stability and the latest software. I was sticking with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and waiting until April of next year to make a decision, but I trashed my install (never manage paritions with Windows when you're dual-booting) and figured I would see if I can get used to the new UIs.

I, of course, rarely use Linux these days. I'm done with school and I don't need my laptop for work. My desktop runs Windows 7. Games, etc. I would use Linux for development work, but I can't be assed to get Oracle Java installed on Ubuntu 11.10.