HL 2 Not working on Steam? BSOD!!!!

Code_Blue

Reaction score
Hey there. This is my first time running steam on my computer and I found this offer online from ATI which it will give you Half Life 2 death match and Half Life 2 Lost Coast for free if you own an ATI graphics card. So i took the offer since I heard that Half life was good. After it was done downloading and installing, I clicked on launch to play the game it it took me to Steam's disk defragmeter to make my games run better and smoother. And once it was done, the game boot SCREEN popped up showing 2-3 people with guns. Then all of a sudden I get a BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH!!!! Oh My god! The blue screen of death (BSOD) told me it was doing a memory dump. And it gave me the following errors.

Stop: 0x00000116 (0x86EF0008, 0x8C4163EE, 0x00000000, 0x00000002)
--------------------------------------------------------------------
ATIkmdag.sys- Address 8C4163EE base at 8C406000, Datestamp 493450BA

Eversince I saw ATIkmdag.sys, I figured that this problem was based on ATI. So it must of been my graphics card. So i went to ATI website and downloaded the newest updates for December 2008 restarted and tried again. and STILL! can't get it to work! please help me! Also it talked about caching and shadowing, for the caching I am using Windows Ready Boost. Maybe that could be a problem?

COMPUTER SPECS:
AMD Sempron Processor 2800+ 1.60GHz
2 Gigabytes of RAM (1 Month's old) (used to have 512 megs of ram)
Windows Vista Ultimate Service Pack 1, 32-Bit

System
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Manufacturer MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
Model MS-7142
Total amount of system memory 2.00 GB RAM
System type 32-bit operating system
Number of processor cores 1
64-bit capable Yes

Storage
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total size of hard disk(s) 540 GB
Disk partition (C:) 15 GB Free (50 GB Total)