I Have No Idea About Laptops (Help)

Zephos

Companion Cube
Reaction score
I actually have no knowledge, please bear with me.

I'm studying and potentially living in Japan for the next year or so. I need a laptop to assist me in this endeavour. The issue is I may be moving every six months or so, so a desktop doesn't seem viable unless reselling is a thing.

My budget is $800 as a soft maximum. $1000 at the very most.

Features I most definitely need:- Ability to do video editing quite briskly.
- Not being a sluggish piece of shit that'll break in a few months.- Being able to play something like DOTA 2, at the lowest settings.

Features I'd like:
- Being able to play the majority of games out now. Not really seeing it as a future proofing thing. Apparently gaming laptops don't really exist.

The dilemma is, if I can get something that can do the former for a very cheap price, should I just get that and invest the money elsewhere, perhaps in a 3DS or console?

Anyway, does anyone have good suggestions of Laptop makes/builds/manufacturers/sellers? I'm in Australia, so I think things like newegg might be out of the question.

Thank you <3

I like Lenovo for laptops. This one is $879, and would do any game out today at probably high settings. You could probably find slightly older versions of this model for under $800

http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/ideapad/y-series/y400/?sb=:000001C9:0000C8AA:

The biggest problem for you is going to be finding a 1080p laptop. At least, one that had the storage space you'll need (you'll need a lot when working with video), and that can do gaming, at $800. Laptops are kinda shitty to use for video editing, unless you buy a monitor to use with it. If you can do that, then that'll make it a lot easier.

Thanks Krynn, I was considering some Lenovo models. Pretty hard to find many Thinkpads in Australia that aren't stupidly expensive. On a lark I found this Samsung model NP355V5C for $500.

The specs for it are:
Radeon 7670m 1GB