Popular hip-hop artist Wyclef Jean runs for president in Haiti

mocho loco

The Puffiness
Reaction score
Hip-hop artist Wyclef Jean told CNN's "Larry King Live" on Thursday he is running for president of Haiti.

Jean was one of the first, and most visible, celebrities to offer aid after a devastating earthquake hit Haiti in January. He has also been an outspoken proponent of the nation through his Yele Haiti Foundation, which has come under some scrutiny for how it spends its money.

"Yes, it's my first time announcing it live -- that today I went in, and I signed, and I am running to be the president of Haiti," said Jean, in his first television interview about his decision to run.

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/americas/08/05/haiti.wyclef.jean.president/index.html?hpt=T1

Hope to see this guy rebuild Haiti, he seems to be pretty passionate about his country.

He's also a fairly smart dude. At the very least he'll be more competent than about half the politicians we elect.

Celebrity Presidents spend a lot of money though, just look at the Obama

hopefully he doesn't **** it up even more though. I wish something good would come to Haiti

Does passion make you a good leader? I don't know if Wyclef Jean has any leadership experience... but hell... Haiti's in such dire straights at the moment I think anything could help. Every time I hear anything about Haiti at any point, it's horribly depressing.

Wait Barack Obama was a celebrity? This should be interesting...

The one thing I will say in favour of celebrity politicians is that a small percentage of celebrities are famous from a basis of technical talent, an ability to adapt, and high intelligence. The 3-5%.

Sean Penn sure didn't like the idea. But I don't know how I feel about it.

I really only liked Wyclef when he was still doing The Fugees. Fu Gee La, great song.

What's going on?
Armageddon come you know we soon done
Gun by my side just in case I gotta rump
A boy on the side of Babylon