From where should I start? (3Ds Max)

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Ive gotten into 3D stuff lately but I just got disoriented. It is so much more complicated than Ive imagined... So I am asking if someone could point out some realy simple tutorials for me that I could actually "understand". Im a total newb, I have no previous knowledge of 3D art whatsoever, but Im wiling to give it a try. I dont even know from where to start simply put. :E

Please, do lend me a hand!

I made these tutorials a good few years back but probably be pretty useful to get you started.

Modeling - http://www.moddb.com/tutorials/creating-a-weapon-for-source

Texturing - http://www.moddb.com/members/stormy101/tutorials/creating-a-weapon-for-source-part-2

Big **** off downloads but will show you modeling, UV'ing and Texturing. If your feeling fancy there is also an animation part.

Generaly tho there is a lot of video content around on the net these days. Just google like "basic max tutorials" or even look around some forums.

Also, www.cgtextures.com is your friend.

3dbuzz.com was great when I used it, it's been many years since then though.

One question, how do you change the number of verticies on a face/side? I'd like to increese its number.

I strongly recommend paying for a months (or yearly if you can afford) subscription at digital-tutors.com. It's 45 dollars a month, but its damn well worth it. The tutorials are in video format and are very comprehensive and easy to follow. They basically guide you through everything. And there are tutorials for every program out there; Photoshop, Painter, 3DS Max, Maya etc. I guarantee in about a months time, you will be well versed with 3DS Max or any other program you choose to learn about.

You won't find too many decent free tutorials online, at least ones that explain everything.

About adding vertices, well, you can either cut them across from one edge to another, or you can use connect and do it nicely.