[Help Needed] University Survey

Omnomnick

Retired Lead Content Creator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi guys, it appears I require the assistance of ValveHelpTime2Life.Halfnet/Irrational!

I am currently studying Game Design at University, and part of the main module on the third and final year of my course involve writing an academic dissertation/research paper on a topic relevant to the course. My paper mainly focuses on discussing and researching the use of narrative in modern video games in order to evaluate how effective certain devices or techniques are.

As part of my initial research, I have developed the following survey which aims to gather up the opinions of game players regarding the use of narrative. While I have got a number of results from peers and lecturers at the university, I'd like to broaden my search by adding in a few participants from online communities such as this. I'd really appreciate it if anyone reading this could check out the survey (linked as a PDF below) and post a reply in this thread with their answers. I'll include an example post in the spoiler tags below showing how I feel answers may be shown, given that there is no way to physically fill in the papers before handing them back to me.

It shouldn't take more than a few minutes to check through the survey and fill it out! Please reply honestly since I have to use these results to back up information in my academic report.

I'll probably take off the survey sometime on Tuesday next week since I have to begin analysing the results on Wednesday, but I'll more than likely leave the thread open to discussion. Thanks to anyone who is able to participate, I seriously appreciate it!

Just took the survey off here as it's time for me to evaluate the results. Big thanks to everyone who participated! If I remember, I'll post how I get on here once I've got my degree halfway through next year.

I give consent: Agree

1. Somewhat
2. No
3. No
4. Disagree
5. Agree
6. Agree