In defense of Booth Babes: Thanks for the mammaries

CptStern

suckmonkey
Reaction score
tongue in cheek article in defense of the recent E3 crack down on Boothbabes

disclaimer for those who tend to be morally outraged by the mere suggestion of anything to do with that awful awful word: S-E-X:

Opinion: Booth Babe Outrage

John Geoghegan (right), former VP of Global Marketing and Sales for LucasArts, has written a humorous, tongue-in-cheek editorial on the recent hubbub surrounding the ESA's decision to crack down on E3 booth babes. Click here for hilarity...

By John Geoghegan

I was shocked, just shocked to read about the ESA's decision to enforce a $5,000 fine against companies that employ scantily clad women at E3.

First, Hurricane Katrina, then domestic spying, and now this!

As a game industry professional, I have to come down firmly in support of scantily clad booth babes promoting video games.

First of all, booth babes serve a necessary industry function. For the vast majority of guys in this business, they provide first contact with the female species (even if it's only for a promotional photo, and "no touching!"). For those who can get dates, they offer something to aspire to (unless you're married, then it's just depressing).

Secondly, as anyone who has ever played a video game knows, female video game characters tend to sport large breasts, or, as they're referred to in the industry by their technical designation: "major league yabos."

I for one have always been curious what type of woman could possibly have inspired animators to create a video game character that looks like she fell on a rack of hormone needles.

The answer is booth babes.