Strange video artifacting -- cooling problem?

N

NeuralClone

I recently started playing Half-Life 2 again after upgrading my RAM and CPU. I used to be able to play HL2 fairly smoothly with my old setup (Athlon XP 1700+ and 512 MB DDR PC2100 RAM) with very few problems. There were occasional slowdowns and short freezes but I never had serious problems. Now, after upgrading my CPU/RAM I am getting some major artifacting when trying to run HL2 on high detail. Here are a few examples:

http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/3947/d1canals1200013lv.jpg
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/2632/d1canals1200028bm.jpg

These problems seem to come up at random times but they always shows up after about 20-30 minutes of play. Looking in a different direction usually fixes the problem but as soon as I go back to the same location/angle the problem comes back. Random objects are affected but it's almost always surfaces that are nearby. Weapons and nearby walls seem to be affected most often.

At first I thought it might be a problem with reflections but I've tried using simple reflections and the problem still shows up at seemingly random times. I've also put all the video options on the lowest possible detail but it still happens. I don't seem to have this problem in other games either (DOOM 3 runs beautifully).

My video card doesn't have a heat sensor on it so I'm unable to tell if my card is overheating. I have two exhaust fans directly above my video card and the air doesn't feel very warm.

Also, I am having the following problem when I take screenshots and when I save my game:
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/2065/d1canals0700004rx.jpg

When I go to the load or save screens, almost all the save shapshots have those red lines through them.

System specs (nothing is overclocked):
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (currently set to 2083 MHz)
ASUS A7V8X motherboard (revision 14)
Corsair 1 GB DDR400 PC3200 RAM (currently at 333 MHz due to motherboard limitations)