I need opinions on which car to buy.

Vigilante

Reaction score
Hey guys. So I graduated from college in May and finally have a job I start next Monday. I want to buy a new car because my Jeep has 140,000 miles on it (going to keep it) and my Mustang does nothing but sit (selling it soon).

I'm an automotive enthusiast, so I want more than just transportation. I'd like something that gets decent gas mileage but still quick, so I've been looking at cars with turbo 4-cylinder engines, but I don't wanna be a tunerfag (which rules out the Evo and STi). Whatever I get I'll likely be leaving stock. I've been looking at used Mk5 VW GTIs and the MazdaSpeed 3, and possibly a 2-3 year old Mustang GT, but if I did that I'd want the new 5.0, so that got ruled out. I was also considering a Mini Cooper S, but my mom called them cute so I don't want one anymore.

I'd look into a six cylinder car as well.

Contingencies:
-Looking at used cars.
-$23,000 limit (and that's stretching it).
-No Hondas.
-No rotaries (sorry pitz).
-I'd prefer to buy European or American, but the Speed 3 is appealing.

Any suggestions on what else to look at? Thanks!!

Go for a Jetta dude. Superior German engineering

Go for a Jetta dude. Superior German engineering

Not really looking for a 4 door sedan, which is why I'm looking into hatchbacks. (Plus most U.S. Jettas are made in Mexico...they aren't the highest quality).

Man, the new WRX STI hatches are soooo awesome though.

Anyway, are you looking strictly for cars or are trucks welcome too?

I went from a 4 door Scion xB up to a pickup and it was the best decision i could've made.

Also, 2 door or 4 door? (or 5 door?)

Edit: I think Mazda has the smaller Mazda Speed 2 coming out too.

I'm never buying a new car again. Get something about a year old. Much better value and will still be under warranty.