Pondering buying a new PC, upgrade vs very high-end?

Gargantou

Companion Cube
Reaction score
Okay, so I now finally have enough money saved up that I feel I can grant myself a new PC.

My dilemma is basically this: I have no experience building PCs and I am probably going to get a pre-built one(Though from a computer store over here that let's you customize the PC and don't overcharge like Dell does, I actually went ahead and put together a very high-end PC for fun from both of them and compared prices, the Dell one ended up being around 3000 euro, whereas the one from the store I am planning on was around 2300, just as an example of the price difference between them.), but I know I have this bad habit of always wanting to spend as much as I can when I buy new things(Within my means though.)

I am wondering, is it more sensible to rather than spend all the cash I've saved up instantly on a very very good PC, spend them on a mid-range PC and use the money I don't spend to upgrade it as the years go on?

Just to be clear, I am not very knowledgeable when it comes to PCs, as you probably gathered from the fact I didn't build my own and don't plan to. Hence why I would value input on this, especially since I tend to spend a bit too much on these things.

Watch videos and learn how to build them. There's no reason you can't do this. Everyone had to learn how at some point.

Unless your hands have been smashed with hammers, there's no excuse.

Would help to post what your current specs are and what the specs are of the one you want to buy.

What vegeta said. For me, I find it much more gratifying to build my own. After getting everything put together and having it work is a very nice feeling. To be honest, it is almost idiot proof, as long as you are half way intelligent, you should have no problem putting on together.