Republican and Enviroment Committee candidate: God will save us from Climate Change

CptStern

suckmonkey
Reaction score
U.S. Representative John Shimkus, possible future chairman of the Congressional committee that deals with energy and its attendant environmental concerns, believes that climate change should not concern us since God has already promised not to destroy the Earth.

Shimkus, an evangelical Christian and a Republican member of the House from Illinois, on Tuesday signalled his desire to become chairman of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce.

The Energy and Commerce committee is among the most powerful in the U.S. Congress, with a wide-ranging purview over legislation touching on energy policy, environmental initiatives and public health

"I'm not an expert, I just spent the night at a holiday"

Shimkus already serves on the committee. During a hearing in 2009, he dismissed the dangers of climate change and the warnings of the scientific community by quoting the Bible.

this is why I'd never vote for a religious politician

On Tuesday, Shimkus sent a letter to his colleagues burnishing his credentials by saying he is “uniquely qualified among a group of talented contenders to lead the Energy and Commerce Committee.”

I'd say he's dangerously underqualified

http://www.thestar.com/news/world/a...ave-us-from-climate-change-u-s-representative

*facepalm*
*facepalm*
*facepalm*

What is wrong with people?

Excellent, everything is going according to plan.

everyonedothedinosaur.jpg

I don't blame religion here. I think the man is evil and in the pockets of big corporations, religion is a ridiculous excuse.

I don't blame religion here. I think the man is evil and in the pockets of big corporations, religion is a ridiculous excuse.