HL2 SDK Info?

J

Jamoe

Does anyone know any sites with onfo about the sdk for hl2?

im interested in doing some hl2 mod coding ( for fun tbh - yes Jamoe = :dork: )

if i get any good ill put my self up for mod coding availability.
i am a noob to C++ but not to programming or oop (ive used Eiffel, Java and C# in the past).

like most here i just want to get hold of the sdk and play (best way to learn imo)

what else would i need to use once they release the sdk?

Anyway info of where I could start would be great.

thanks in advance

Jamoe

If I knew buddy, I'd help ya out. From a video interview I saw of one of the co-creators of Half-Life...I think the whole release of the SDK will be more of a private/select thing that will only be given out to serious modders in the beginning. This, of course, is what I've heard from others and what I'm lead to believe in that interview. I've heard rumors that the kit will be out sometime in late June. Regardless, I don't think you'll be able to get it unless you attend some sort of seminar Valve will be hosting.

I think it's highly likely that it will leak.

Part of me hopes it does leak a bit (in the inopportune event that NO mod teams end up with any support until the game's release), but most of me hopes it doesn't. Working in a mod team has shown me how few serious people there are out there to make something as large as a mod. People go in with the expectation of the mod being 100% fun and games. It should be fun, but because you love to do work. Often times, these people get let down for one reason or another and decide to quit the team. The turnover rate in mod developing is pretty grosstastiq, but that's just the way it is.

Valve will release the SDK before the game so modders will have enough time to work before the game comes out.

Originally posted by Fisheye
Then it wouldn't be serious mods.

-FishY