Look at me! I'm building a computer!

Higlac

Companion Cube
Reaction score
Well, I'm just wondering if the tech gurus can double check my planned rig here.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157229

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115072

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231460&Tpk=F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR <- Changed ram after looking at ASRock's compatibility list < Bought

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...m_sp=Cat_Monitors-_-Best_Sellers-_-24-009-266 < bought. Pretty awesome TBH.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...194&cm_re=storm_sniper-_-11-119-194-_-Product < already bought

Basically, I'm building it as a barebones system with a lot of potential for upgrades, since I'm a poor-ish college student (yay grants). I'll be buying it in bursts, snagging things like video cards, a cpu cooler, and hard drives when they're on sale.

The end product after I'm done buying random shit over the next 6-9 months should be overclocked to hell, in SLI, and maybe a pair of SSDs in Raid 0, keep this in mind when suggesting alternatives.

Buy AMD if you're a gamer on a budget.

I got my quad core for 150 bucks

Lol, and that's one of the parts that I'm not willing to change. I want the 2500k so I can crank it up to 4.8 or higher on air cooling.

Anybody have any experience with CPU coolers, I'm looking at this, but I'm not sure if anyone has any better suggestions for my bang/buck?

I got this one.

Cheaper, higher RPM, and I don't think yours comes with a fan?

I found this one on a site about quiet computers. Seemed like the quietest and most efficient for the price range, iirc.

Vegeta, how is that for overclocking? I like that it has more copper, but it has less than half of the number of heatpipes.

I've got my 3.0 dual core OC'd to 3.4

With only one case fan, too.